• This is a bread machine recipe.  I never really liked bread makers until I actually had one of my own.  I think my negative opinion was based on other loaves I had tasted that people had made from store bought mixes.  I can honestly say – i’ve never used a store bought mix!  It’s more fun to throw the ingredients in – especially if the kids are helpin’ out.  I make this recipe at least once a week.  I avoid buying bread at all costs – just trying to avoid the unwanted – high fructose corn syrup and other preservatives, etc…   
  • This recipe makes a 2 lb. loaf.

 Add ingredients in the order recommended by your machine – 

  • 2 cups cold water
  • 3 Tbsp. oil (vegetable & canola are fine)
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 2 Tbsp. packed brown sugar
  • 4 cups 100% Whole Wheat flour
  • 2 Tbsp. Wheat Gluten flour (usually in the organic area at the local grocery store)
  • 2 tsp. active dry yeast or bread machine yeast 

That’s it – now just set your machine to the Whole Wheat Light setting and then press start!enjoy!    

